May 10th 2014

Louis Vuitton SPARK Award Finalists Honored and Recipient Named

Piotr Matejczyk was named the recipient of the inaugural Louis Vuitton SPARK Award for his project, Re-Thinking the (Hyper)Loop. The Louis Vuitton Spark Award ceremony, sponsored by Louis Vuitton and the City of Chicago's Department of Cultural Affairs and Special Events, took place at the College of Architecture's Spring 2014 Open House on Friday, May 9th in S.R. Crown Hall on the campus of the Illinois Institute of Technology.

Daniel Paltridge, Senior Vice President of Louis Vuitton North America and Louis Vuitton SPARK Award winner Piotr Matejczyk

Also honored that evening were the five finalists:
Eric Schmiesing for his project, Urban Oasis
Cecilia Campos and Jeffrey Wigen for their project, ADAPT
Lili Gong, Haidong Fei and Adam Weissert for their project, Dynamic Bus System
Robert Noll and Wesley Kohn for their project, ArchiPlot
Thomas Lang for his project, Drift

As winner, Matejczyk will travel to Paris where he will meet with the Louis Vuitton architecture department responsible for the designs of Louis Vuitton boutiques around the world. His project will also be featured in an installation in the Louis Vuitton store on Michigan Avenue in Chicago later this summer