May 13th 2016

Louis Vuitton SPARK Award Winner

The Louis Vuitton SPARK Award 2016 jury announced the 2016 winner during the IIT Architecture Chicago Open House on Fri., May 13 in S. R. Crown Hall. The award went to Maria Del Olmo Gomez and Mina Rezaeian for their project "Threads of the City". 

Threads of the City
by Maria Del Olmo Gomez and Mina Rezaeian

From the "Threads of the City" proposal:

"Streets are threads that can create forms and shape the urban fabric. Each street is an element that can weave, braid, and knit to the webs of a city. By identifying these threads potentials and enhancing their unique characteristics, the whole fabric of the city becomes richer. Thus, streets perform as in­terlacing materials that has also been woven with people’s lives."

The 2016 Louis Vuitton Jury reviewed the finalists in a session that took place in S. R. Crown Hall on Thursday, April 28th. The Louis Vuitton SPARK Award 2016 Jury includes: Michelle T. Boone, Commissioner, Cultural Affairs and Special Events, City of Chicago; T. Lyle Barnes, Regional VP/Midwest-Mid-Atlantic, Louis Vuitton Americas; John Mulliken, VP/Store Planning & Development, Louis Vuitton Americas; Cynthia Roubik, Department of Planning, City of Chicago, Planning, Design & Historic Preservation Division; Wiel Arets, Dean, IIT Architecture Chicago; Vedran Mimica, Associate Dean of Research.

The Louis Vuitton SPARK Award 2016 Finalists projects included:

The Pause: A Break in a Verse 

by Elmira Hosseinkhani and Mohammad Hossein Abbas

Mile End, Start!: Vertical Continuity in Threshold
by Chang Hong and Ye Chan Shin

The Square Mile: Rethinking the City: An Alternative to the Urban Canyon
by Maria Escudero and Maria Risueno

MOOP: Magnificent Mile Loop Square
by Hyungho Joo and Yoeun Chung

The Louis Vuitton Spark Award, sponsored by Louis Vuitton and the City of Chicago's Department of Cultural Affairs and Special Events, honors an outstanding student from the College of Architecture's undergraduate and graduate Cloud Studio program reflecting the College's focus on the City of Chicago and "Rethinking Metropolis."

The recipient of the annual Louis Vuitton SPARK Award will travel to Paris to meet with the Louis Vuitton architecture department responsible for the designs of Louis Vuitton boutiques around the world. The winning project will also be featured in an installation on Michigan Avenue in Chicago later this summer.