Graduate Support

Graduate students in the College of Architecture are eligible for merit-based scholarships, teaching assistantships, and internships.


To be considered for a merit-based scholarship please apply by the priority deadline and please check “yes” to the application question "Do you wish to be considered for financial assistance from IIT?"

The following scholarships were awarded for the 2018-19 academic year and are subject to change.

IIT Architecture Merit Scholarship

These fellowships are given exclusively to incoming students of the highest academic standing for use in their first year of graduate study. For the 2018-19 academic year the tuition awards ranged from $9,000 to $31,375. Applicants will be notified of selection with their letter of admission.

Jerrold & Ruth Weil Loebl Fellowship Prize

Nagle/Hartray Scholarship

Brothers Finfer Scholarship

Richard H. Driehaus Scholarship

George Danforth Traveling Fellowship and the Jerrold Loebl Traveling Prize

Peterhans Visual Training Project Prize


Deposited students can apply for Teaching Assistantships during the summer before they begin. Students may receive an amount between $2,500 and $4,500 per semester, as determined by departmental needs and hours of service a student is willing to provide in return for this tuition and stipend fellowship. Approximately 70% of the funding will be applied toward tuition while 30% will be offer as a stipend. To qualify, a student must be a full-time (9 credit hours) graduate student and maintain grades of a B average or better. Details can be found at:


Since its founding, our college has had longstanding and deep relationships with professional practice in Chicago. Today, many Chicago architectural firms have committed to providing a unique opportunity for our students: Paid ten-week summer internships pledged to IIT students only.

We are grateful to the firms who participated in the 2018 program:

Adrian Smith+Gordon Gill Architecture


BKL Architecture LLC

Brinninstool+Lynch Ltd.


Hartshorne Plunkard Architecture



Solomon Cordwell Buenz

Studio Gang Architects

Thomas Roszak Architecture

Tilton Kelly & Bell LLC

Wight & Company

Woodhouse Tinucci Architects