Sep 3rd 2015

2015 Burnham Prize: Currencies of Architecture

Professor Martin Kläschen, Chicago Architectural Club Co-President, announces the Burnham Prize Competition Extension. The deadline for submissions for the Burnham Prize has been extended to September 7th, 2015 with the announcement of the winning entries to occur on September 30th, 2015. Reduced Student Fees: Student entry fees have been reduced to $25.00.

Inspired by the title of the inaugural Chicago Architecture Biennial—The State of the Art of Architecture—This year’s Burnham Prize challenges participants to develop a single image that represents a strong point of view that explores the question: What is the State of the Art of Architecture today? Entry information, including a complete set of rules, can be found at

Burnham Prize Exhibition: Winning and selected entries will be displayed at a special companion exhibit at the Chicago Architecture Foundation during the Chicago Architecture Biennial. 

Exhibition and Program Schedule
Location: Chicago Architecture Foundation Gallery 1st Floor located at 224 S Michigan Ave Chicago, IL 60604.
Event Hours: 6:00-8:00pm

September 30: Burnham Prize Winner Announcement & Exhibition Opening

October 22: “Come to the Table with Stanley Tigerman”
“Come to the Table” will feature Stanley Tigerman discussing the state of the art of architecture today along with a special exhibit that includes a selection of past and recent work. The show will also contain the original “Titanic” drawing and a current response that will be presented at the event.

December 4: Closing Party & Auction with Stanley Tigerman
The centerpiece of the Exhibition will be an installation made from multiple tabletops that our “Come to the Table” events will be held around. The “Titanic” drawing signed by Stanley Tigerman will be mounted on each tabletop and will be up for auction. The audience will have the unique opportunity to acquire one of these limited edition artifacts.

The Jury members include:
Penelope Dean (Professor, UIC)
Zurich Esposito (Vice President, AIA Chicago)
Peter Exley (Founder, Architecture Is Fun & Professor, SAIC)
Vedran Mimica (Associate Dean, IIT)
Ben Nicholson (Professor, SAIC)
Stanley Tigerman (Tigerman McCurry Architects)
Zoë Ryan (Curator of Architecture and Design, Art Institute of Chicago)