Sep 30th 2015

S. R. Crown Hall Roundtables

IIT Architecture hosted a series of four roundtables on October 2nd and 3rd to celebrate the opening of the Chicago Architecture Biennial. The roundtables were held in S. R. Crown Hall, the home of IIT Architecture, 3360 S. State St., Chicago, IL 60616

FRIDAY, October 2nd

10 a.m. to 11 a.m.
Roundtable #1: Emerging Voices
A panel of distinct design “voices,” all past winners of the Architectural League’s Emerging Voices award, who are influencing the disciplines of architecture and urban design.
Moderated by Martin Felsen, Assistant Professor and UrbanLab, IIT Architecture

Dan Wood (, New York)
Tatiana Bilbao (Tatiana Bilbao S.C., Mexico City)
Michael Meredith (MOS, New York)
Florian Idenburg (SO-IL, Brooklyn)
Paul Lewis (LTL Architects, New York)

11 a.m. to 12:30 p.m.
Roundtable #2: South-North: The Americas
The round table will assess the role played by the first cycle of the the Mies Crown Hall Americas Prize in the development of a “trans-American” discourse about architecture and the city.
Moderated by Fabrizio Gallanti, Lecturer, School of Architecture at McGill University, Montréal

Mark Lee (Johnston Marklee, Los Angeles)
Jing Liu (SO-IL, Brooklyn) 
Felipe Mesa (Plan B, Medelin) 
David Barragán (Al Borde, Quito) 

SATURDAY, October 3rd

5 p.m to 6 p.m.
Roundtable #3: Research Chicago: Tall Buildings
Is Chicago still the “Silicon Valley” of Tall Building Expertise and Export?
Moderated by Michelangelo Sabatino, Professor and Director of Ph.D. Program, IIT Architecture

Hanif Kara (AKT, London)
Thomas Leslie (Iowa State University)
Luke Leung (SOM, Chicago)
Martino Stierli (MoMA, New York)
Antony Wood (IIT – CTBUH)

6 p.m. to 7:30 p.m.
Roundtable #4: When You're Having More Than One
This panel, UIC@IIT, is the first of a two-part exchange between the schools, and will focus on the status and possibilities of design criticism today.
Moderated by Robert Somol, Director, School of Architecture at UIC

Penelope Dean (UIC)
Alexander Eisenschmidt (UIC)
Sam Jacob (UIC)
John McMorrough (U.Mich; 2012 Greenwald Professor, UIC)
Pier Paolo Tamburelli (2014-15 Garofalo Fellow, UIC)