Apr 18th 2017

Chicago Schools: Authors, Audiences, and History

"Chicago Schools: Authors, Audiences, and History," the 2nd International Graduate Student Symposium, will be hosted by the IIT College of Architecture PhD Program in partnership with the 2017 Chicago Architecture Biennial.

Image: Sigfried Giedion's lecture slide of the Gage Group Buildings by Holabird and Roche. A facade by Louis Sullivan graces the rightmost structure. (Image source: gta archives/ETH Zurich [Estate Sigfried Giedion]) 


“Chicago Schools” is an international peer-reviewed graduate student symposium that explores the interplay between the individual and collective in the process of making history. The symposium, hosted by the IIT College of Architecture PhD Program to coincide with the Chicago Architecture Biennial, will engage with and enhance the dialogue around the Biennial theme, “Make New History,” by highlighting graduate student contributions in architecture, design, humanities, and architectural and urban history. Papers may revisit past and present Chicago Schools - from Henry van Brunt’s "School" and William James’ "Chicago School of Thought" to Sigfried Giedion’s "Chicago School of Architecture,” and beyond - as well as the emergence of new historiographic and architectural traditions within a global context. 


Please email a 300 word abstract to  symposia@yahoo.com by July 10, 2017. Speakers will be invited to present their papers (approximately 20 minutes) for a post-conference publication. [Students who are accepted but unable to travel to Chicago are encouraged to present via Skype.]

Submissions must include:

Paper title
Author(s) full name
Author(s) credentials (250 word bio)
Author(s) affiliations (i.e., university name, company name, etc.)
Contact (mailing address, email address and phone number)


Graduate students (Doctorate or Master) in any field of architecture, design, humanities, social sciences, from all countries. 


Important dates

Deadline for abstract submission: July 10, 2017
Speakers informed of abstract acceptance: July 17, 2017
Complete paper draft submission: August 28, 2017
Speakers receive feedback: September 11, 2017
Final paper submission: November 10, 2017


Opening event: November 17, 2017
All-day paper sessions: November 18, 2017
Chicago architecture tour for symposium participants: November 19, 2017


Steering Committee

Prof. Michelangelo Sabatino
Dan Costa Baciu (PhD cand.)
Daniel Whittaker (PhD cand.)

Peer Review Committee & Respondents

Prof. Rolf Achilles
Prof. Robert Bruegmann
Prof. Alexander Eisenschmidt
Alison Fisher (PhD)
Prof. Michael Golec
Prof. Kevin Harrington
Bradford Hunt (PhD)
Prof. Sean Keller
Prof. Thomas Leslie
Prof. Jonathan Mekinda
Prof. Joanna Merwood-Salisbury
Prof. Eric Mumford
Prof. David Van Zanten
Prof. Christopher Vernon
Prof. Claire Zimmerman
John Zukowsky (PhD)


The Illinois Institute of Technology

The Illinois Institute of Technology is a private, technology-focused, research university offering undergraduate and graduate degrees in engineering, science, architecture, business, design, human sciences, applied technology, and law. With a heritage of Ludwig Mies van der Rohe and László Moholy-Nagy, IIT Architecture is the only university in Chicago offering a PhD in Architecture.

Learn more about the  IIT Architecture PhD Program.

This event will be held in partnership with the Chicago Architecture Biennial.

Sign up for the mailing list to receive updates.

Follow Symposium updates on  Twitter.