Apr 7th 2018

MCHAP.emerge Symposium & Award Dinner

Symposium, Award Ceremony, and Dinner
April 12, 2018
S.R. Crown Hall

MCHAP is a biennial prize that acknowledges the best built works of architecture in the Americas. MCHAP.emerge is the corresponding biennial prize for the best built work from an emerging architecture practice. The MCHAP.emerge 2018 finalists were selected by this year's MCHAP Jury, comprised of Jury Chair Ricky Burdett CBE, Professor of Urban Studies and Director of LSE Cities and the Urban Age Programme (London), Jose Castillo, Principal, Arquitectura 911sc (Mexico City), Ron Henderson, Professor at Illinois Institute of Technology and Director of the Master of Landscape Architecture and Urbanism (Chicago), Rodrigo Pérez de Arce, Professor, Facultad de Arquitectura, Diseño y Estudios Urbanos, Pontificia Universidad Católica (Santiago), and Claire Weisz, Founding Principal of WXY (New York). On April 12, the recipient of the 2018 MCHAP.emerge Prize will be announced. 

1:00pm - Presentation by MCHAP.emerge Finalists Practices
2:30pm - Roundtable Discussion with Jury
The Symposium will feature presentations by the Finalists, in addition to a roundtable discussion with the Jury.

5:30pm - Reception, Viewing of MCHAP.emerge Finalist Projects
6:30pm - Pezo von Ellrichshausen in conversation
7:00pm - Presentation of Award Finalists
The evening will include the presentation of the MCHAP.emerge finalists and winner. The winning authors will receive the MCHAP.emerge Award, the MCHAP Research Professorship in the College of Architecture at Illinois Institute of Technology, and funding of a related publication. A conversation with the inaugural winners of the MCHAP for Emerging Practice Award, Pezo von Ellrichshausen will be featured.

The MCHAP.emerge Symposium and Award Ceremony are free and open to the public.

7:30pm - Dinner
8:30pm - Announcement of Winner, Award Presentation, and Champagne Toast
The MCHAP.emerge Award Dinner is a ticketed event | $85 per person.

RSVP by April 5

MCHAP and IIT College of Architecture graciously acknowledge the continued support of Kohler Co., Alphawood Foundation, and The Mies Society at IIT for making this endeavor possible, and AIA Chicago for their promotional support.