Oct 19th 2014

Inaugural MCHAP Award Celebration

The seven inaugural MCHAP finalists projects, represented by their architects and clients, will be celebrated at a day-long series of events for students, faculty and the general public on October 22nd at S. R. Crown Hall. The celebration will culminate with an Award Benefit Dinner starting at  6:00 p.m. during which the Inaugural MCHAP winner will be announced.

The day will begin with sessions designed to give students and faculty an opportunity to interact with the architects and clients of the seven buildings selected by the jury as MCHAP Inaugural Finalists:

1111 Lincoln Road In Miami, Fl, USA
Herzog & de Meuron
Jacques Herzog
Pierre de Meuron
Christine Binswanger
Jason Frantzen
UIA Management, LLC
Robert Wennett, President
Jeff Weinstein, Director of Development

Altamira Residential Building Rosario, Argentina
Rafael Iglesia Arquitectura
Guillermina Iglesia
Maria Eva Contesti

Capilla del Retiro, Los Andes, Chile
Undurraga Deves Arquitectos
Cristian Undurraga
Pablo Lopez

Iberê Camargo Foundation, Porto Alegre, Brazil
Álvaro Siza Arquitecto
Álvaro Siza
Jorge Silva
Jose Luiz Canal

Mestizo Restaurant, Santiago, Chile
Smiljan Radic Studio
Cecilia Puga
Mestizo Restaurant
Igancio Murua, Owner

Nelson-Atkins Museum Of Art, Bloch Building, Kansas City, Mo, USA
Steven Holl Architects
Chris McVoy
Nelson-Atkins Museum of Art
Marc Wilson, Director Emeritus

Seattle Central Library, Seattle, WA, USA
Joshua Prince-Ramus
Carol Patterson
Seattle Central Library
Deborah Jacobs, Director, Gates Foundation Global Library Initiative
Marcellus Turner, City Librarian

The public portion of the day will take place in the afternoon, 2:00 p.m. to 4:00 p.m., in S. R. Crown Hall with a dialogue featuring the jury and architects.

MCHAP ACCORD: Rethinking Metropolis in the Context of Contemporary Practice

Welcome and Introductions Dirk Denison, Director

Statement on Plurality and Predicament Kenneth Frampton, Jury President

Moderated Discussion between Architects and Jury moderated by Kenneth Frampton and Wiel Arets, Jury Members

Concluding Statements Jorge Francisco Leirnur, Dominique Perrault, Sarah Whiting, Jury Members

The seven inaugural MCHAP finalists were chosen by the inaugural MCHAP Jury, which includes: Jury President Kenneth Frampton, Ware Professor of Architecture at GSAPP, Columbia University, New York; Wiel Arets, Dean of the College of Architecture and Rowe Family College of Architecture Dean Endowed Chair at IIT, Chicago; Jorge Francisco Liernur, Architect, Professor at Torcuato Di Tella University, and Researcher of Argentina’s National Council for Scientific and Technical Investigation, Buenos Aires; Dominique Perrault, Founding Principal, Dominique Perrault Architecture, Paris and Professor at EPFL, Lausanne; and Sarah Whiting, Dean and William Ward Watkin Professor, Rice School of Architecture, Houston.

The Honorable Rahm Emanuel, Mayor of Chicago, and Mary Elizabeth Spies Droste are serving as Honorary Chairs for the award benefit dinner which begins at 6:00 p.m. at S. R. Crown Hall at 3360 S. State Street on the campus of Illinois Institute of Technology in Chicago. The evening will include a reception, presentation of the projects by their architects followed by dinner and ending with the announcement of the inaugural MCHAP winner.

The invitation for the ticketed benefit award dinner, including the full list of benefactors and hosts, is downloadable from the link in the right-hand margin. Reservations for the Benefit Award Dinner can be made by calling 312.567.3610 or 312.567.8608 or emailing mchap@iit.edu.